Alliance Piera Barbaglia Shaheen Health Services Academy

Parent Open House: Tuesday, September 12th!          STAY UP-TO-DATE ON THE LATEST PBS-HSA ACTIVITIES BY SIGNING UP FOR OUR E-NEWSLETTER.  VISIT THE "ABOUT US" SECTION FOR MORE INFORMATION.      Parent Open House: Tuesday, September 12th!      GO PBS-HSA WOLVES!!     Parent Open House: Tuesday, September 12th!

Class of 2018

SENIOR CORNER

 

Welcome to your senior year! This is the last push to graduation and preparation for college. This page will be a great reference for you to remember deadlines and/or to use as a resource.

 

How to Reach Your Counselor:

  • Naviance emails- Keep your email in Naviance up to date because I will be sending out a lot of information regarding deadlines and opportunities for you.
  • Counselor appointments- You can register for counselor appointments on the school website.
  • Emails- You can reach us via email at A-G jasgutierrez@laalliance.org, H-P cvasquez@laalliance.org, Q-Z ggutierrez@laalliance.org. Please remember that we may take up to 48 hours to respond and will not be available on the weekends.
 
Successful Tips
  • Check emails regularly! Make sure your email in Naviance is updated. Counselors and colleges communicate to you through email.
  • Pass all senior classes! Any fails may affect your high school graduation and/or college admissions. Even if you have been accepted to a college, colleges may revoke your acceptance if you fail certain classes.
  • Scholarships- Keep applying for scholarships! College is expensive and every bit of money helps.
  • Activate and check your college portals regularly- After you apply for colleges, they will email you about portal credentials. Make sure to check it often because they will slowly post things that you need to submit to complete your application.  
 
 
 
 
 

NAVIANCE

 

We will be using Naviance for college paperwork. Please make sure to always update your Naviance account and to check it regularly. Attached are directions on how to request transcripts and/or teacher recommendations.

 

What We Use Naviance For:

  • Sending transcripts to colleges
  • Requesting/ submission of Teacher Recommendations
  • Submission of Counselor Recommendation
  • Emails/ notifications of important news
FALL WORKSHOPS
Financial Aid

 

Items to bring to the workshop:
- student social security number (if applicable)
- parents' social security number (if applicable)
- parents' 2016 tax forms
-parents' D.O.B
 

Workshop dates:

(Students are expected to attend more than 1 workshop to complete the entire financial aid application.)

 





  • Wednesday, October 11 1:30-3:30
  • Thursday, October 26    3:45PM- 5:30PM
  • Saturday, October 28 9:00AM-12:00PM
  • Saturday, November 4 9:00AM-12:00PM
  • Thursday, November 30   3:45PM- 5:30PM
  • Saturday, December 9 9:00AM-12:00PM
  • Tuesday, January 23   3:45PM- 5:30PM
  • Thursday, February 8   3:45PM- 5:30PM
 
 
College Applications
 
UC Applications
 
  • Tuesday, September 12. 3:45PM- 5:30PM
  • Thursday, October 12 3:45PM- 5:30PM
 
CSU Applications
 
  • Thursday/ Friday October 5 and 6 (In Class)- CSU Application
  • Thursday, November 9 3:45PM- 5:30PM   
  • Tuesday, November 14 3:45PM- 5:30PM
 
Private/ Out of State Applications
 
  • Tuesday, October 10 3:45PM- 5:30PM
  • Thursday, December 7 3:45PM- 5:30PM


 
All Applications
 
  • Tuesday, November 7- 3:45PM- 5:30PM
  • Thursday, November 16- 3:45PM- 5:30PM
  • Tuesday, November 28 3:45PM- 5:30PM
  • November 13-16 During Nutrition and Lunch in the Counseling Office
 
Personal Insight Questions/ EOP Questions
Wednesday, November 8 2:00-3:30PM
 
 

Helpful Links: